Centre for Comparative and Transnational Law (CCTL)​

The Centre for Comparative and Transnational Law  比較法與跨國法研究中心 (CCTL) was established in 2020 in order to provide institutional support and encourge collaborative comparative and transnational law research at CUHK LAW. 

It is the mission of CCTL to

  • conduct cutting-edge and innovative research in the areas of comparative and transnational law;
  • foster collaborative research projects within CUHK LAW and with external parties;
  • create high impact through research in academia and non-academic circles;
  • develop policy proposals for considerations of government bodies in Hong Kong and beyond;
  • be recognized as the leading centre of excellence in the areas of comparative and transnational law in Asia;
  • contribute to excellence in teaching across the University by promoting interdisciplinary approaches to course design and materials, as well as teaching-related collaboration with other Faculties;
  • contribute to the betterment of society locally, regionally and internationally through knowledge transfer activities, including media engagement and consultation with international and non-governmental organizations.


CCTL covers comparative and transnational law research, focusing on specific fields, i.e. comparative constitutional law, cross-border legal issues, transnational legal history and law of obligations. This innovative collaborative research is supported through the following 6 cluster groups:

    Dean, Faculty of Law
    Wei Lun Professor of Law
    Kathleen Fitzpatrick Australian Laureate Fellow
    Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor
    Director of the Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies
    Melbourne Law School
    Associate Professor
    William F. Baxter – Visa
    International Professor of Law
    Stanford Law School

    CCTL EXECUTIVE DIRECTORProf. Rehan ABEYRATNE, Associate Professor
    CCTL DEPUTY EXECUTIVE DIRECTORProf. James ZENG 曾思教授, Assistant Professor


    Comparative Constitutional Law Research ForumProf. Ngoc Son BUI, Assistant Professor
    Corporate Law and Governance ClusterProf. Chao XI, Professor
    Environmental, Energy and Climate Law ClusterProf. Benoît Mayer, Assistant Professor
    Obligations Lab AsiaProf. Lutz-Christian WOLFF, Dean, Faculty of Law and Wei Lun Professor of Law
    Private International Law GroupProf. Dicky TSANG, Associate Professor
    Transnational Legal History GroupProf. Christopher ROBERTS, Assistant Professor

    Address:Faculty of Law
    6/F, Lee Shau Kee Building
    The Chinese University of Hong Kong
    Shatin, New Territories, Hong Kong