CUHK LAW Team is named a Dillard Award Winner in the 2022 Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition

After winning the 2022 Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition Regional Tournament, progressing to the Advanced Rounds of the International Tournament, and winning various awards, including the top two oralist prizes for the Regional Tournament, the Alona E. Evans Award for Second Best Memorial, as well as the 4th and 21st Best Oralist Awards for the International Rounds, the CUHK LAW team has just garnered another honor, being named a recipient of the Jessup 2022 Dillard Award.

One of the competition’s most prestigious honors, announced weeks after the competition ends and based on complex tallying, the Hardy C. Dillard Award is presented to teams for excellence in Memorial writing by comparing top Memorials across participating jurisdictions. Memorials of the teams scoring the highest at Regional Tournaments, and Memorials of the teams scoring in the top 20 at the International Tournament are considered for the Award. CUHK LAW tied with Singapore Management University for the Award’s 3rd position, behind Université de Geneve (1st) and Hidayatullah National Law University/Gujarat National Law University (tied for 2nd).    

The CUHK LAW Team, coached by Prof. Gregory GORDON, Joshua YEUNG, and Ann LEE, consisted of members Jandy YUEN (LLB), Harry TSANG (LLB), Christopher GIN (PCLL), Alvin WONG (PCLL), and Jack LEE (JD). The team’s student coach was Sabrina LAU (JD).

Established in 1960, the Jessup Moot is the largest international mooting competition in the world, attracting participants from almost 700 law schools in more than 90 countries in recent years.

Posted on 10 May, 2022