CUHK Air Law Moot Team competed in the 10th Leiden-Sarin International Air Law Moot Court Competition

Posted on 16 April, 2019

The team competed in the Leiden-Sarin International Air Law Moot Court Competition on 4-7 April 2019. In honour of its 10th anniversary, the competition this year was held in Chandigarh (the hometown of the Sarin Foundation), India. The Air Law Moot Court Competition is one of its kind in offering exposure to both international air law and public international law. There were a total of 18 teams participating (representing 11 different countries) in the international round and 50 esteemed international judges (representing 40 countries).

The CUHK team was the only team representing Hong Kong, and faced opposing teams from St. Petersburg State University (Russia), McGill University (Canada), Hidayatullah National Law University Raipur (Chhattisgarh, India), and National Law Institute University (Bhopal, India). The National University of Singapore (Singapore) ultimately took home the championship, with Leiden University (The Netherlands) as the runner-up. The CUHK team was ranked as 5th for Respondent and 6th for Applicant.