Conference on Digital Platforms and Competition Law: Glocal Trends and Challenges

18-19 April 2024

On 18-19 April 2024, CUHK LAW organised the conference ‘Digital Platforms and Competition Law’. The focus of the event was on the ways in which jurisdictions across the world are tackling the problems associated with the power of digital platforms. Participants had assorted backgrounds and expertise. We heard the perspectives of enforcers, practitioners, in-house counsel and academics from law, economics, business and marketing. The focus was competition law, but the relevance of other disciplines including data protection. contract law and sector-specific regulation (particularly the EU’s Digital Markets Act) was also explored. 

Professor Ioannis Lianos of University College London and the UK Competition Tribunal (formerly President of the Hellenic Competition Commission) and Mr. Rasul Butt, CEO of the Hong Kong Competition Commission, delivered the keynote speeches. Speakers from CUHK LAW included Dean Lutz-Christian Wolff, Professors Stuart Hargreaves, Uta Kohl, Sandra Marco Colino and Eliza Mik, and PhD candidate Ms. Wan Li. Other presenters included Mr. Laurent Bougard (Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer), Ms. Yasmine Bouzoraa (University of Groningen), Mr. Milan Brouček (HK Competition Commission), Prof. Junhong Chu (HKU), Mr. Stephen Crosswell (Baker & McKenzie), Mr. Sébastien Evrard (Gibson Dunn), Prof. Ariel Ezrachi (University of Oxford), Mr. Timothy Paul Ker (Hong Kong Competition Commission), Ms. Hee-Eun Kim (Meta), Ms. Catrina Lam (Des Voeux Chambers), Prof. Ping Lin (Shandong University), Prof. Sin Chit Martin Lai (CityU), Mr. Yui Roy Law (CityU), Prof. Jia Liu (HKUST), Dr. Klaudia Majcher (Brussels School of Governance and the Competition Law Hub), Mr. Marcus Pollard (Linklaters), Prof. Alexandr Svetlicinii (University of Macau), Mr. Marc Waha (Norton Rose Fulbright), Prof. Masako Wakui (Kyoto University) and Prof. Yalun Yen (Taiwan Fair Trade Commission and National Cheng Kung University). CUHK Law students Macy Chu, Catherine Shuk Wun Lee, Wan Li, Ronald Tundang and Eunice Wong acted as discussants to the panels.

Click here for more information