THE CHINESE UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG

Faculty of Law

Gane Prize in Energy and Environmental Law

REGULATIONS

Professor Christopher Gane and Mrs Christine Gane ("the Donors") will donate a scholarship of HK\$15,000 ("the Prize") to The Chinese University of Hong Kong ("the University") on an annual basis starting from the academic year 2019/20. Regulations governing the award of the Prize are detailed below:

- 1. The Prize will be known as the "Gane Prize for Energy and Environmental Law".
- 2. Subject to Paragraph 5 below, there will be one (1) award each year.
- 3. The amount of the Prize will be HK\$15,000.
- 4. The Prize will be awarded to a graduating student of the LLM programme in Energy and Environmental law ("LEL") who has achieved the highest Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) in the LEL graduating class of that academic year.
- 5. In the event that more than one student has achieved the same highest CGPA in the Programme, the Prize may be shared and the amount of the Prize divided equally among those students.
- 6. Each year, the Dean of the Faculty of Law will nominate the Prize Recipient(s) whose particulars shall be sent to the Donors for confirmation.
- 7. The Faculty will not be obliged to award the Prize in any year in which it does not consider that the level of achievement of any student in the Programme merits the award.
- 8. The award will be made for an initial period of five years, and may be continued on a year-by-year basis thereafter. The Donors will give the University not less than twelve months' notice if the arrangements set out in these Regulations are to be discontinued.

September 2019