THE CHINESE UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG Faculty of Law

Association of China-Appointed Attesting Officers Scholarships

Regulations

The Association of China-Appointed Attesting Officers (the "Donor") will donate an annual sum of \$20,000 for two scholarships to the Faculty of Law of The Chinese University of Hong Kong starting from the academic year 2011-12. Regulations governing the award of the scholarships are detailed below:

- 1. The two scholarships shall be known as the "Association of China-Appointed Attesting Officers Scholarships".
- 2. The amount of the scholarships is HK\$10,000 each.
 - (i) One scholarship of HK\$10,000 shall be awarded to a Mainland student (ie a student holding a passport of the People's Republic of China) enrolled in the Master of Laws in Common Law (LCL) programme as a full-time student who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievements in his/her LCL studies. The Donor will conduct an annual seminar for all LCL students. A student is required to attend the seminar before he/she is eligible to apply for the scholarship.
 - (ii) One scholarship of HK\$10,000 shall be awarded to a Hong Kong permanent resident enrolled in the Postgraduate Certificate in Laws (PCLL) programme as a full-time student who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievements in his/her PCLL studies. The Donor will conduct an annual seminar for all PCLL students. A student is required to attend the seminar before he/she is eligible to apply for the scholarship.
- 3. Selection is carried out by a Selection Committee comprising a representative of the Donor, the Dean of the Faculty of Law (or his nominee), and the Programme Directors of the LCL and PCLL (or their nominees). Scholarship will be announced in April for the LCL programme and in August for the PCLL programme.
- 4. In any year when no candidate is judged to be of sufficient merit, no award shall be made.
- 5. The Donor shall notify the University prior to the beginning of any academic year if the arrangements set out in these Regulations are to be discontinued in that academic year.